Meteors, and other musings.

16 Nov

Last night, I tried to get a glimpse of the Leonid meteor shower, even though tonight is considered the grand show. I was not disappointed. I pulled out a recliner into the backyard and just watched the sky. It was a perfectly clear, crisp night and the stars seemed so bright, so much more brighter than I could remember. And so much more numerous.

I was watching for a while before I saw the first one. It streaked across the sky and it didn’t fizzle out immediately. It pulled across the sky in a slow burn. Subhanallah, I have never seen anything like it. And it was big! Not the tiny flecks I remember seeing as a kid, face tilted to the heavens as I would lay on the deck of the house I grew up in.

I saw a total of three last night. I actually fell asleep for a few minutes, because I jerked awake with that stomach-in-throat feeling like I was falling.

The stars are so much brighter down here.

I’ve been enjoying the class so much. I feel like something in me is shifting and resettling properly, like a puzzle piece that I’ve been trying to wedge into the wrong spot for so long that found it’s rightful place.

وَلَقَدْ جَعَلْنَا فِي السَّمَاء بُرُوجًا وَزَيَّنَّاهَا لِلنَّاظِرِينَ

And indeed, we have set up in the heavens great constellations, and endowed them with beauty for all to behold;


وَحَفِظْنَاهَا مِن كُلِّ شَيْطَانٍ رَّجِيمٍ

And we have made them secure against every satanic force accursed-


إِلاَّ مَنِ اسْتَرَقَ السَّمْعَ فَأَتْبَعَهُ شِهَابٌ مُّبِينٌ

so anyone that seeks to learn (the unknowable) by stealth is pursued by a flame clear to see.

Surah al-Hijr (The Rocky Tract): 16 – 18

You can use the Fluximator to find the best time to watch the Leonid meteor shower in your area. Bring some popcorn and cheer on the angels.

2 Responses to “Meteors, and other musings.”

  1. Jawaad Ahmad Khan November 16, 2009 at 12:35 pm #

    Now I’m remembering that the jinn that try to go and listen to the angels speak of things that will happen are kicked out, and the Heavens were closed up when the last revelation came to mankind.

    May Allah save us from all the shayateen, jinn and human.

    • runningmuslimah November 16, 2009 at 2:50 pm #

      ameen. yes, I couldn’t help thinking how fitting we were learning about that on the eve of a meteor shower! The best time should be early morning around 2 – 4 AM but you’ll be able to see them all throughout the night. Just pull up a chair, be patient and keep your eyes on the sky! It’ll happen when you least expect it.

Leave a comment