Archive | 12:47 pm

Hairdressers, Judas, and more.

9 Nov

Yesterday, I went to Ulta to get my hair did. As the hairdresser was snipping away, we started talking. Inevitably, we wandered to the topic of religion. Because of the fact that I wear hijab, and always request an alcove to the side where no one can see, any hairdresser I go to is always curious. At one point I was explaining the difference between our beliefs about Prophet Isa [Jesus], upon him be peace.

“We revere Jesus as a prophet, not as the–”

“What?” my hairdresser interjected. “You revere Judas?”

Heh. My powers of enunciation leave much to be desired. I repeated myself again, making sure to emphasize JEEESUUS.

We also discussed Slumdog Millionaire, the new movie Precious, how Jamaicans got their curry (from Desi people), and how to balance style with hijab.

I find the name “Ulta” amusing, because in Urdu it means upside down, or not as it should be. Thankfully, she didn’t do an “ulta” job on my hair.