Done Gone Vegan

13 May

The Sister recently started this health kick of going vegan and working out all the time…kinda what I should be doing, hehe. I’ve decided to go vegan with her, and it has been the best decision I have made in recent time, hands down.

Things I have noticed:

  • no crazy food cravings
  • skin is all cleared up, alhamdulillah (watch me bust out with a zit right now, lol)
  • weight loss
  • more energy
  • sleep better (that could also be due to the fact that I’m only drinking green tea now)

The change has been tremendous. I started in fits and starts, beginning with reading the first 80 or so pages of “Going Vegan for Dummies” at Barnes & Noble. Then I stood in line at the Starbucks that is Siamese-twin attached to every B&N to get a cup of water. I gazed down the display of confectionary treats, all of which have milk in them. Can’t eat that, I thought, with a somewhat superior air.

Going vegan is interesting in that I can’t just give in under family pressure to eat a bit of nihari–oh, just one piece of chicken–because I’ve made a lifestyle choice. I’m not saying I’m making it haraam for me, but it’s just such a relief to have control of what I put into my body and realize that all that meat and dairy was slowing my body down. Even though it wasn’t much at one time, it was the regular consumption. My body feels lighter, more able to process what food I put into it, which has been mainly lentils, vegetables, roti, nuts and fruit. In desi culture only poor people “can’t afford” to eat meat, yet they are the healthiest.

I went to Sam’s Club the other day because my mom wanted me to order a pizza. When I asked the woman behind the counter to only put cheese on half, she looked at me like I was crazy, but dutifully wrote down the order. I asked if there was a discount for only using half the usual amount of cheese.

“Nope, sorry,” she said, making the effort to be apologetic, even though she still thought I was crazy.

Leave a Reply

