Archive | 7:19 pm

AlMaghrib Withdrawal.

18 Nov

So, I am officially in Al-Maghrib withdrawal. I walked into class on Monday, sat down, and had to refrain from busting out in tears like, three times. This past weekend I felt like I was bit by the radioactive spider, placed by the sorting hat into Gryffindor, told that I must destroy the One Ring in the fires of Mordor, and took the red pill. All wrapped up in one unwieldy package.

I thought I heard the Adhaan, but it was just a voice. I thought I saw Arabic writing on a bulletin, but it was just my imagination.

I was feeling so lonely, but I kept thinking, I’m not the only one who ever felt like this. It’s like I’ve been searching in vain for my best friend but they’ve been standing right there the whole time.

Learning about the life of Rasulullah, salalahu alaiyhi wa salam, has opened up my mind and softened my heart. I know the Quran is a miracle, but this is the first time I’ve ever contemplated the miracle of Rasulullah’s life. There is a lesson for all of us, no matter what we have gone through.

“He came at the right time,” my mom told me today. She was talking about Shaykh AbdulBary Yahya. “People really needed to hear this. They’re afraid, uncertain. They don’t know what’s going to happen.”

So there I am, listening to my professor talk about expanding the production possibilities frontier, and long-run aggregate supply and short-run aggregate demand, and on and on and on about shaping and reshaping the piling up the good things of this world. It was so surreal. I looked around and all I could think was, I want to go home. I wanted to be back with my brothers and sisters in that auditorium, learning about the Prophet, peace be upon Him, because it felt REAL. It felt like a taste of what life should be like.

Insha Allah, this feeling won’t fade, and this will just be the beginning of my journey into knowledge.

Insha Allah.

Trying to forget someone you love is like trying to forget someone you never even met.

Also, my mom would like you all to know that if you get an email from Osama Bin Laden, it’s a virus. Kthx.