Our plans, and better plans.

10 May

Finally finished my CPrint captioning training course, alhamdulillah. I’ve submitted my files for certification and am eagerly yet anxiously awaiting reply from RIT regarding approval. I hope I don’t have to go back and re-do anything. I fill out paperwork this Wednesday insha Allah and start work (and school) the following Monday.

Debating whether or not I should get a parking permit for the summer. I could just park out in the boonies and take the shuttle in…but that would get old, really fast. I’m going to try the shuttle method for the first week and see how it goes.

Started reading my textbooks for my summer journalism classes. One is called, “Mightier Than the Sword: How the News Media Have Shaped American History.” It is an absolute joy to read. I just finished the first chapter today. Reading the excerpts from Paine‘s Common Sense and other portions of prose from that time period of the 1770s literally made me sigh. I hesitate to call it fus-ha English–because it is really just an amalgam of several different languages–but that’s the only comparison I can think of. It’s so beautiful, the way people used to write.

2 Responses to “Our plans, and better plans.”

  1. Jawaad Ahmad Khan June 1, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

    Just caught up on your blog. I love the new design.
    Do you have to know ASL for the captioning thing? It looks pretty cool. Is it to caption for university classes or other programs & events as well? (or anything?).

    • runningmuslimah June 2, 2010 at 11:29 pm #

      Thanks! It needed some freshening up.

      No, you do not need to know ASL to become a captionist, although it does help if you need to communicate with deaf clients. You’re right about the anything part, if there is any event or occurrence in which transcribing a lecture, talk, video etc is needed for a deaf or hard of hearing student, a captionist can be called in. Right now I’m covering a History of Western Civilization class at UCF along with another senior captionist for a hard of hearing girl who is enrolled in the class.

      Yeah, it is pretty cool. Here is an example:

      Ts is wh I wd rt if I were kpxg, u only abrvt words ta r five ltrs n undr.

      This is what I would write if I were captioning, you only abbreviate words that are five letters and under.

      Also, for the -ion suffix, you simply write ‘x.’ for -ing, you would just write ‘g.’

      Insha Allah I’m looking to purchase the software for use with AlMaghrib and ISNA. Right now I’m limited to using the software only on campus. You can find out more about it at

Leave a Reply

