Deactivated Facebook

4 May

Deactivated my Facebook account. Starting to feel the strain now because I went to go update my status message and realized there was no status message to update, as I no longer possess a Facebook account. So instead I will write here what I wanted to write there:

Running Muslimah just ordered her textbooks, and a wireless adapter and Firewire cable. Being productive rocks!

Ok, I’ve finally realized how epically lame Facebook is. Time to discover the joy of doing things for myself, instead of the joy of feeling like I must announce it to the entire world the moment it happens.

That’s the interesting thing that happened when I realized I couldn’t update my status…I sat there for a moment, reveling in the joy of doing something for myself. Quietly, unannounced.

Of course I ruined it by posting it here. Hehe.

I really want my life back. I want the days back where I didn’t even have internet in the house, and was forced to take a bus to the library just to go online or print something. Aaah, those were the days.

Can’t wait for classes to start.

Things I would like to get done today:

  • Shower

‘Tis a humble list.

2 Responses to “Deactivated Facebook”

  1. Jawaad Ahmad Khan June 1, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    Hmm…trying to think of advice for you…because in the field I hope to enter (social media marketing), it’s people like you (the ones who might actually realize they don’t NEED internet) that might kill the industry.

    All I can say is that the need for facebook, twitter, etc. depends on the person. Like all things, if the harm of it starts to outweigh the benefit, then leave it. But, if there’s no real harm, I’d say to keep it, as it’s a part of our changing world.

    And plus, this blog counts as social media.
    (Lol, as I’m typing this, I can see my name in the sidebar under “Muslim Media”)

    • runningmuslimah June 2, 2010 at 11:41 pm #

      Killing an industry…sounds powerful!

      Yeah, I just got rid of facebook, but alhamdulillah I still kept this blog–although I’ve been neglecting it D: — and my Twitter account.

      FB was definitely causing me more harm than good, I’d log on expecting to spend only a few minutes and an hour would go by in which I would accomplish nothing. 😦

      Yes, I felt you could get your own special title, lol. I had a feeling “Muslim Men” would give the wrong impression. As “Muslim Women,” we are a topic unto ourselves.

Leave a Reply

