The Habits of My Hijabs

21 Dec

I have assorted a generous collection of hijabs over the years, and one thing I’ve noticed is they all have their own distinct personalities. Some wrap around like the arms of your best friend, soft and comforting. Some are loud and flamboyant. Some are more subtle. Some hijabs are a pain to have around, high maintenance maharanis, always requiring adjusting and fixing and never staying put. Some are a complete joy to wear, completely flexible, never pulling at the jaw, or gaping at random areas.

Some have sentimental value, like the one my friend borrowed from me when she took her shahada. The colors matched her outfit perfectly and I always smile whenever I wear it.

A few are made of somewhat coarse material, but what they lack in refinement they make up for in sheer beauty.

Some I take leave of with a sigh of relief, others I never want to stop wearing. A few fall through the cracks, and I stumble upon them waiting patiently for me to discover them again after weeks or months. Others sit on top of the pile, always calling to me loudly because I’ve fallen into a well-worn groove of wearing three or four hijabs that always work.

Some are great for working out in, some are perfect for parties, some are subtle and refined for everyday work wear, and some are just plain…weird.

Regardless, I kinda love them all. A lot.

4 Responses to “The Habits of My Hijabs”

  1. aleenakhan December 21, 2009 at 9:15 pm #

    Sarah, you’re so cool.

    You’re right.
    Some hijabs are good for snowboarding, some hijabs are only any good at dawats, and some hijabs, or dupattas, more accurately are good for throwing on and praying fajr in.

  2. runningmuslimah December 21, 2009 at 9:35 pm #

    true dhat, son.

  3. Wardah December 22, 2009 at 12:12 pm #

    I’m a recovering hijab addict (exaggeration of course ahem) however, I try to make it a general rule, get a new one, get rid of an old one, or at least sift through my collection a couple times a year to see what hasn’t been worn (wear it or loose it). It’s especially hard now since every store has hijab scarves for sale.

    Hijabs = Happiness, sigh ;]

    • runningmuslimah December 22, 2009 at 1:07 pm #

      i knooow. i love that every store now has gorgeous hijabs for sale. i’m always tempted to buy them but as a general rule unless i can think of a few outfits to match with, i usually will leave ’em alone…*sigh* yes, hijabs DO = happiness!

Leave a Reply

