Fuzzy dice.

16 Oct

Drove to the downtown masjid with my mom, fuzzy dice dangling from the rear view mirror alongside my 99 Names of Allah hangy-thingy, feeling like a total baller. (Yes, complete stress on the “er.” Inside joke with my sister.)

Ms. Bonaparte won it for me at the milk can toss at VCC’s Matador Day because I have no coordination when it comes to carnival games. I can make baskets from the top of the key but when it comes to a piddly little tin can at a distance of 3 feet, I am lost.

I did win a really cool keychain by my own wits, though. I had to answer a question correctly in order to get a prize. The question: “Which artist refuses to play ‘Sexyback’ at his own concerts?”

Thank god I found out from a certain artist’s great-great-grandfather that one day, “He will bring sexy back.”

Had some amazing fried fish at the masjid. I forgot to pick up one of the scrumptous-looking cookies, though. 😦

Afterward we participated in a group discussion. I volunteered myself to write down the pertinent points on the whiteboard. At first one side was supposed to be “Issues” and the other side “Solutions” but it wound up being more of a linear “Issue/Solution” layout because I kept running out of space on one side of the board. Sister N. volunteered to write down everything on paper because there wasn’t enough room on the whiteboard for all the points. Man, we wrote a LOT. “They made us work tonight!” I said to Sister N. when we broke for Isha.

I was so happy when Sister N. told me she reads my blog while working out. Awwww. *warm fuzzies* I become ridiculously happy whenever anyone tells me they read my blog. I’m still in denial that anyone even gives a crap about anything I write.

This morning I walked in the neighborhood. It was so beautiful, slightly overcast but with a nice breeze. When I got back to the house I felt like sweeping the driveway. As I was sweeping my sister opened the door and blearily stuck her head out.

“What are you doing?” she asked.

“Sweeping the driveway.”

“You know the tree’s gonna crap more leaves all over the driveway in five minutes, right?

“I’m doing it for the exercise!”

I noticed we have a basketball hoop pole…but there’s no hoop. This is the first time I really took a look at it, for a while it was just this annoying pole that I had to make sure I didn’t slam my car door into while getting in or out. There’s a notch at the top where you can install the backboard and once I cut back a few of the branches on the tree I’m gonna have me a veritable basketball court in my driveway, insha Allah. The pole is solidly built, cement poured all around it in the ground. Might as well make use of it. I found someone selling a basketball hoop on Craigslist for $20 about 10 minutes south of our house, so I’m taking a look-see tomorrow.

After sweeping, I installed the mirror in my sister’s room that has been sitting on her vanity for about 2 months. She was happy and made me feel like the best sister everrrr. Then I did a humongous load of laundry, and felt very accomplished and domestic for it not yet being 12 PM.

I started calling around a few places to look for possible alternate venues for the upcoming Al-Maghrib seminar. We have something confirmed for the first weekend, but the second weekend is looking a bit iffy because we need something we can secure for both days. I thought I had struck gold when I called OCPS and inquired about the high school auditoriums.

“Hmm…the auditorium. That’ll be $200…”

I waited with my heart in my throat.

“…per hour.”

And it immediately sank right back into my chest cavity.

I gently intimated that that was a bit out of our price range. Try like, a LOT. We’re still looking at other possible venues, so insha Allah we’ll find something.

Sleep now!

Leave a Reply

