101° F. In October. I thought it was fall? As in, falling temperature?

13 Oct

So Florida is living up to it’s status of “in like a lion, out like a lamb” regarding the summer temperatures. Kinda turns the metaphor on it’s ear, because in this case it’s the HOT temperatures that are refusing to go. I was driving home from school yesterday and one of the various LCD screens along the way broadcast a cheerful 101° F. Lovely.

Today one of my classmates asked me to teach her how to wear the hijab. “You have the prettiest scarves!” D’awwwww. *warm fuzzies*

IlmFest was amazing  and awesome and everything I hoped it would be and needed it to be. I met Dalia Mogahed. She spoke on Saturday night of the conference (I bought the CD of her speech) and she said out of 3,000 service projects that were done for the United We Serve campaign, approximately 2,700 of the projects were from Muslim organizations! That’s like, 90%! Not, like, is! It IS 90%! She said the response from the Muslim community was overwhelming. She told me Project Downtown was one of the main inspirations! *hearts* I asked her why she didn’t come, and she was a bit confused because she hadn’t heard anything about coming to Orlando for our service project.

“My sister said maybe you skipped out and took your kids to Disney World,” I remarked. She laughed. She said she would have loved to have come, but she hadn’t known of any plans for that specific day.

One of the Al-Maghrib speakers gave her an American flag jeweled pin as a token of her efforts on behalf of all Muslims living here in the US. “Is it made in China?” I asked. She flipped the box over. “No…Thailand!” Hee.

I got a picture of her, but I didn’t get a chance to get a picture of she and I. For this, I am sad. But, hey, I MET DALIA MOGAHED. She rocks my socks, she has street cred because she works at GALLUP and totally wrote an awesome book and also auntie cred because she’s married and has two young sons AND she’s on our side, ya know? She’s our own rockstar.

Also, this:

Dear Eric Kripke,

Please to not make Castiel curse, drink beer, or venture into dens of iniquity. As Dean said to Cas at the end of, uh, The End: Don’t ever change.

Thank you.

Signed,

Concerned Fan, who feels Castiel is blasphemous enough, what with not-finding-God-on-flatbread and all.

5 Responses to “101° F. In October. I thought it was fall? As in, falling temperature?”

  1. Erica Reynoso Montalvo October 14, 2009 at 1:51 am #

    Uh! I’m so ready for a “chilly” 80 degrees. This heat/humidity – so exhausting. Dalia Mogaehd – how cool you got to meet her.

    • runningmuslimah October 14, 2009 at 7:35 am #

      I hear ya, sister. Yes, it was so cool to finally meet her!

  2. Jawaad Ahmad Khan October 15, 2009 at 9:53 pm #

    May Allah preserve Dalia Mogahed & allow you and many other sisters to follow in her exceptional path. (ameen)

  3. Jawaad Ahmad Khan October 15, 2009 at 9:55 pm #

    Ps- above comment is from WARDAH but my bro was logged in :]

  4. runningmuslimah October 16, 2009 at 8:04 am #

    lol. ameen, wardah/jawaad!

Leave a Reply

