All moved in.

20 Aug

I moved all my stuff into the new house today, all in one go. Well, two goes.

Ms. Bonaparte, my fellow running buddy and the best friend a gal could have came over today and helped me move. I found a $5 coupon to Pollo Tropical while I was sorting out all my crap. It didn’t have an expiration date, so  after moving the first batch of boxes we rejoiced by having lunch at Pollo Tropical. We only had to pay .83 cents for a large TropiChop. It was beautiful. We made sure to stock up on all the condiments. Salsa, guava BBQ sauce, garlic cilantro sauce, jalepenos, the works.

When we came home and my mom saw she said, “Good, nobody has to cook for the next two days, we can just eat chutney with roti!”

We sat around and told jokes. I told the one about the Imam who saved a plate of food from iftar during Ramadan. While he was leading Taraweeh he saw a cat out of the corner of his eye approaching the food. Quickly, he thought of a way to scare the cat without breaking the prayer. He started reciting Surah Masad, “Tabat yadaa abi lahabiu’ WATABBBB! Ma aghna ‘anhu maaluhu wa ma KA SABBBBB!” Everybody just thought he was putting emphasis on the surah because it talks about the punishment of Abu Lahab, but really he was just trying to scare the cat from his food.

There’s another joke my mom told us about the mother and sons who get into an inheritance argument when the husband passes away. The sons want all the money, but the mother wants the money too, so they go to the Imam to find out what to do.

When they get there, the Imam says, “Let’s look in the Quran!” He opens the Quran and starts reading “Tabat yadaa abi lahabiu’ watab…(what is it with these jokes and Surah Lahab/Masad?) ma aghna ‘anhu maaluhu wa Ma ka saab!” Then he closes the Quran and says, “Okay, that’s decided! Ma ka saab!” In Urdu “ma ka saab” means, “It all belongs to mother.”

Another one I heard, it’s not really a joke but more something to think about, the Quran starts with the letter “baa” and ends with “seen” and together you have:  بس (bas)–enough. Between ب and س is enough, it needs no more improvement! Cool, na?

So after joke telling we went back to sorting all my crap. Ms. Bonaparte had to leave before I finished the second wave, so I went back to the house a second time later in the evening and moved the last of it. It was more lonely this time 😦 But then my mom came while I was there so I became habbeh!

Orientation tomorrow! I got quite the workout today just moving everything back and forth, (well, just forth I suppose!)  It was the best feeling in the world, doing honest-to-God manual work. I approve.

I woke up this morning and everything felt…different. I didn’t want to go online, the rest of the day while I was driving I didn’t want to listen to music in the car, there was this…feeling in the air. I felt so clearheaded and so motivated, like something that was sitting on my heart was just gone! Ramadan is almost here! Ramadan mubarak, Ramadan Kareem everyone!

Oh, and I got a totally random call today from this guy who works at Lockheed Martin. He wanted to know if I knew where to buy Ramadan Mubarak cards, because he has two Saudi Air Force officers who work for him, and he wanted to do something nice for them by giving them Ramadan cards! I thought that was so sweet. I gave him the number for ISCF and Abu Maher and Adams Halal, but I really couldn’t think of anyone specifically who sells them! I have Eid cards (found ’em while I was cleaning),  but no Ramadan cards!

I said, “If you don’t mind me asking…how did you get this number?”

“Oh, google!” he replied.

“Ohhh…” I said. I hazarded a guess that it was attached to some old MSA info, and he replied in the affirmative. At first I was a bit unsettled…but hey, it’s the information age, just gotta roll with it.

Well, big day tomorrow! Shower, Isha, sleep aaaaand break!

Leave a Reply

