What is wrong with me?

19 Aug

Four days! Four days of not working out! VHAAAAAAAT. I run a 5K and then I don’t work out for 4 days.

Well, I finally got off my lazy butt today to take care o’ bidness at university. I got a pretty good involuntary cardio workout just navigating the huge campus. I’m so excited, I have orientation this Friday!

My schedule will pretty much consist of class, library, work, working out, class, library, work, working out, full-stop. I won’t have to get in my car once. Can’t waaaait!

3 Responses to “What is wrong with me?”

  1. sal August 20, 2009 at 4:05 pm #

    yay, awesome! what are your plans for ramadan? i kinda always mess up my work out schedule during the month..

    are you dorming/living on campus?

  2. runningmuslimah August 20, 2009 at 10:12 pm #

    Hey chica! I plan to check myself this Ramadan, stay away from Facebook, amp up with reading and reflecting upon the Quran, read all the great books I have that I haven’t finished [The Sealed Nectar, (autobiography of Rasulullah SAW) Sahih al-Bukhari, Shamail (Characteristics, Mannerisms) of Rasulullah (SAW)]

    as far as working out I’m going to do a LOT of toning, low impact stuff like stretching, yoga, pilates, abs. Lot’s and lots of abs. I have a trick at iftar where I will eat a date and some fruit, drink some water, and then immediately jump up and go pray maghrib. When I come back I’m less likely to overeat at iftar. I learned the hard way that it is sooooo easy to break the fast and then want to immediately start eating! I actually lost about 10 lbs during Ramadan ’07 using this method in addition to the low impact toning.

    hmmm…i’m going to try drinking plenty of water at night and quit caffeine gradually because it has a dehydrating effect, I need all the help I can get with 95 degree F temps during the day and iftar at 8 PM! Insha Allah it’ll be fine.

    I’ll be staying at home, since I’m only minutes away from campus! \o/

  3. sal August 21, 2009 at 11:37 am #

    Good idea! I like your plan. I would suggest breaking your fast by drinking water with lemon and honey. It’ll give you a quick electrolyte replenish/boost. And I’m worried about the heat too but inshallah we’ll be fine 🙂 I’m trying to stay positive though every ramadan that has followed my months of hardcore work outs has been especially hard. My body likes the 2-3 hour scheduled meals etc. But I found slow release protein powder, aka casein, to make shakes with. Check it out. If you drink a nice tall shake with frozen fruit etc at suhoor you’ll be good for a whiiile

Leave a Reply

