Thoughts and shoutouts!

28 Jul

My friend, co-worker, and author of Finding Allah, recently decided that she is ready to take the next step and declare her Shahada (declaration of faith).

We didn’t try to cram an ideology down her throat, we didn’t throw a bunch of books at her head, we didn’t attempt to frighten her with images of fire and brimstone.

I haven’t known her as long as my sister has, and although I played a minor role in her decision to come to Islam, the thought that she saw something in us, in our faith, and despite all our faults and defects saw something beautiful in us all the same. It’s humbling and it makes my throat close up just a little.

May God guide her and grant her the best in this life and the hereafter. May she persevere with patience and grace and please please please let us not annoy her with our triflin’ problems. Much.

Amen.

In other news, my kickboxing instructor has joined the blogosphere! Check her out at The Stellar Life.

Also, the author of this blog, Thoughts from a Muslimah, is the same girl who was sitting in the row in front of me at the Blogistan session at ISNA in DC! What a small world.

Morning Wind is something beautiful that I like a LOT. Is not the morning near? Always.

I donated blood today after my kickboxing class, along with two other girls from my class. I got a cookie, Goldfish crackers, and three coupons for a free smoothie from Pollo Tropical.

Originally it was only 1 coupon for the free smoothie. The other two were coupons for “buy 1 laser tag session, get the 2nd free!” and…something else that I had no interest in. I asked the male nurse if I could trade the two coupons I didn’t want for two smoothie coupons. He rolled his eyes in exaggeration but he was smiling. “Fine, but don’t tell anyone,” he said in mock seriousness, handing over the coupons. “Don’t worry, it’s our little secret,” I told him.

When I got home and told my mom that I donated blood she went on the whole “ooooh-desi-girl-you-shouldn’t-donate-blood-did-you-faint-are-you-dizzy-why?” and my grandma said, “Eh? You have so much blood but you can’t give any to me, you give to these outside people? Who did you give blood to?”

My mom told her “Arey, how would she know? Whoever needs it gets it!” I had a picture in my mind of being connected to someone like two cars connected by jumper cables. Heh.

So, anyone up for smoothies?

3 Responses to “Thoughts and shoutouts!”

  1. aleena July 28, 2009 at 10:54 pm #

    this chick doesn’t happen to be the [admin: name has been changed to protect the innocent] girl is it?

    and yes, I DO stalk you.

  2. runningmuslimah July 28, 2009 at 11:06 pm #

    Yes, it is and YES WE LOVE THE STALKING.

  3. Heather - KB instructor:) July 29, 2009 at 4:17 pm #

    Hey! I love your posts:) great job on the working out and eating:) I am so proud of you…and thanks for mentioning my blog! Can’t wait to see your routine Tuesday! See ya tomorrow in class.

Leave a Reply

